Capital Junior Hockey League

The Capital Junior Hockey League was established in 1972. At that time is was known as “Edmonton Metropolitan Junior Hockey League. Many excellent hockey players were leaving Alberta to play junior hockey elsewhere. Sometimes, their education and family life suffered, in other cases, “turned off” by the experience, they quit and returned home.

A group of Edmonton and district businessmen felt that there was a need to offer an alternate choice. They planned a program that would be developmental and recreational, a program where players could develop hockey and life skills in harmony. A program that maintains a competitive brand of hockey with recreation value.

The directors of the Capital Junior Hockey League feel they provide this environment. What more could be said about a junior hockey program where the players can live at home and play competitive junior hockey. In familiar surroundings, players can work, go to school, or attend any other academic institution.

The Capital Junior Hockey League is proud that many of their players continued on in hockey. They are especially proud of the hockey environment their program extends to all the players and coaches.

The Capital Junior Hockey league was incorporated in January of 1973. The members were the U of A Junior Bears, South Side Athletic Club, North Side Club, Sherwood Park Knights, St. Albert Juniors, and the Fort Saskatchewan Hawks. Two of these are still members: Sherwood Park and Fort Saskatchewan.


2023-Present Keith Shultz
2017 – 2023 Larry Lepine
2007-2017 Jim McAuley
1986-2007 Gary Bruce
1985-1986 Chris Deakin
1980-1985 Tom Meters
1975-1980 Dave Lilycrop
1973-1975 W.B Parker


2023-24 OFFICERS
President Keith Schultz
Vice President Mark Stade
Past President Larry Lepine
Past President Jim McAuley
Secretary/ Treasurer Heather Shaw
Discipline Chairman Larry Davis
Director Glenn Worrell
Honorary Lifetime Member Russ Barnes
WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :